Anxiety is Not an Excuse to be an Asshole

Nicky Cullen
2 min readFeb 15, 2022
https://www.instagram.com/p/CZy9uFsPs2I/

This is by no means exclusive — far from it. That said, it’s present enough to warrant speaking to, so fuck it, I’ll speak to it.

One of the biggest complaints said assholes have is that they’ve been treated like shit by an asshole, whether it be family, friends, employer, colleagues, lovers, etc.

Somewhere somehow, someone hurt them. So they feel morally justified to do on to others the same.

I marvel at those who feel such shitty behaviour is justified because they’ve had a hard life.

It’s justification to get help, seek compassion, distance yourself from other assholes, and not feel shame for having to ask for help. It is NOT an excuse to be an asshole.

The irony is while they see themselves as victims, their victims are often those that care for, love, support, and want the best for them.

And because most people won’t put up with shitty behaviour, they double down and start throwing tantrums when things don’t go their way.

It’s a vicious cycle.

“People are assholes. They don’t care. So, I’ll be an asshole to protect myself and prove I’m right because, well, I’m crafty like that and I must protect my ego at all cost.”

--

--